Sports Outside the Beltway

Chair of BCS committee not on board with Obama’s playoff idea

Change that you can use. If you are a college football fan. From AP-

One person who won’t be swayed by President-elect Barack Obama’s recent call for an eight-team national college football playoff is Oregon president David Frohnmayer, chair of the BCS Presidential Oversight Committee.

“We deeply respect the president-elect and we are glad that he is a fan of college football,” Frohnmayer said in an e-mail response to ESPN Tuesday. “We have the most compelling regular season in all of sports, and I’m sure that contributes to Senator Obama’s enjoyment of our great game.”

Frohnmayer opposes a playoff for the former Division I-A. Other presidents on the committee are Rev. John Jenkins (Notre Dame), Robert Khayat (Ole Miss), Mark Nordenberg (Pittsburgh), John Peters (Northern Illinois), Harvey Perlman (Nebraska), Graham Spanier (Penn State) and Charles Steger (Virginia Tech.)

“My colleagues and I on the BCS Presidential Oversight Committee have discussed the future of postseason football on many occasions and we do not believe a playoff would be in the best interest of the sport, the student-athletes or our many other constituencies,” Frohnmayer said.

When asked what change he’d make in sports during last week’s Monday Night Football broadcast, Obama said “I think it’s about time we had playoffs in college football. I’m fed up with these computer rankings and this that and the other. Get eight teams– the top eight teams right at the end. You got a playoff. Decide on a national champion.”

No matter what the system, there will be some school and its fans left unhappy. Plus it gives sportswriters something to write about every fall. A playoff system sounds great, but isn’t college football season too long already? Twelve games plus a bowl if a school is lucky enough.

While we’re at it, what is President elect Obama’s views in regards to changing the Fedex Cup?

Related Stories:
Recent Stories:

Comments are Closed


Visitors Since Feb. 4, 2003

All original content copyright 2003-2008 by OTB Media. All rights reserved.