Sports Outside the Beltway

Rachel Alexandra wins the Preakness Stakes

She was the first filly to win the second leg of thoroughbred* horse racing’s triple crown in over 80 years. Kentucky Derby winner Mine That Byrd finished 2nd only one length back.

Jockey Calvin Borel won two triple crown races with different horses. Much was made of this, but in harness horse racing I think it is not a unheard of happening. Drivers like the late Stanley Dancer or Billy Haughton had large stables with many top horses at the same time.

The question is now whether Rachel Alexandra will race in the Belmont Stakes. Borel did say the filly didn’t race her best. The may that Mine That Byrd closes, I think Rachel Alexandra would have great difficulty winning the Belmont. The Belmont is the longest triple crown race at a mile and a half.

*- It is often reported the Preakness, Belmont, Kentucky are the legs of horse racing’s triple crown. There are other types of horse racing, not just thoroughbreds. Standardbreds and Quarterhorses for two. Harness racing’s Little Brown Jug and Hambletonian are as much triple crown races as are the three legs of thoroughbred racing’s are.

Related Stories:
Recent Stories:

Comments are Closed


Visitors Since Feb. 4, 2003

All original content copyright 2003-2008 by OTB Media. All rights reserved.