Sports Outside the Beltway

Wake’s Jim Grobe 2006 Coach of the Year

Wake Forest’s Jim Grobe easily outpaced Rutgers’ Greg Schiano for AP coach of the year honors.

In his sixth season at Wake Forest, Grobe took the Demon Deacons (11-2) from worst to first in the Atlantic Coast Conference without their starting quarterback and top tailback. Wake Forest set a school record for victories and won the ACC for the first time in 36 years.


The 54-year-old Grobe beat out a strong group of contenders for coach of the year, receiving 39 of 65 votes from the AP Top 25 voters.

Rutgers coach Greg Schiano, who took the once-laughable Scarlet Knights within a victory of the Bowl Championship Series, finished second with 12 votes.

I should note that both are high on the list of candidates in the prolonged search to replace Mike Shula at Alabama. Either of them would be an outstanding choice, as would Navy’s Paul Johnson. Instead, the Capstone Brain Trust is holding out hope of luring Miami Dolphins coach Nick Saban away from the NFL into the most thankless job in college sports.


NC State Hires BC’s Tom O’Brien

NC State has chosen BC’s Tom O’Brien, a Naval Academy graduate, over Paul Johnson, Navy’s current coach.

Boston College coach Tom O’Brien has been hired as North Carolina State’s new football coach, multiple sources close to the situation said Wednesday night.

The Wolfpack chose O’Brien over Navy coach Paul Johnson, who was contacted about the job earlier this week. O’Brien, a graduate of the U.S. Naval Academy, led the Eagles to a 9-3 record this season. He had a 75-45 record in 10 seasons with the Eagles. Boston College plays Navy in the Dec. 30 Meineke Car Care Bowl.

Interesting. Johnson’s name has been tossed about in the Alabama search, although he has apparently not been interviewed and West Virginia’s Rich Rodriguez is reportedly all but locked up that job. It would be quite odd if he were in the running for jobs of that caliber but wound up not getting any offers.


Visitors Since Feb. 4, 2003

All original content copyright 2003-2008 by OTB Media. All rights reserved.