Sports Outside the Beltway

Rookie QBs 0 for Last 11 Debuts

Rick Gosselin provides this interesting stat:

Rookie quarterbacks are 0-3 in their NFL starting debuts this season with Arizona’s Matt Leinart and Tampa Bay’s Bruce Gradkowski both losing Sunday. They join Week 4 loser Vince Young of Tennessee. Rookie quarterbacks have lost 11 consecutive starting debuts, including those by No. 1 overall picks Alex Smith in 2005 and Eli Manning in 2004. You have to go all the way back to November 2004 to find a rookie quarterback who won his NFL starting debut. Incredibly, it was Drew Henson of the Cowboys – and he was yanked at halftime of that start.

Granting that the fact a rookie QB is starting usually means the team is very bad, that’s an amazing streak.

Related Stories:
Recent Stories:

Comments are Closed


Visitors Since Feb. 4, 2003

All original content copyright 2003-2008 by OTB Media. All rights reserved.